clos
 

The History

  • Le Clos du Moulin aux Moines, 1952
  • Le Moulin aux Moines avec Michel Matrot, 1968
  • Cour du Moulin aux Moines, années 70
prev next

This mythical “clos” has been farmed and harvested since its plantation by the Abbey of Cluny monks, and then by those of the Abbey of Citeaux since 962, continuing until 6 centuries later.

 

This unique and specific area was chosen by the monks because of the environments qualities/features: a noble abode in the intersection of two valleys at the heart of the Cote de Beaune wine region, walled in by the Clos and penetrated by the Clous River which nourished the mill.

 

Built in 1650, the blessed chapel and the dovecote of 500 birdhouses, each dedicated to a couple of pigeons, testifies to the status of the Domaine’s historical owners, as the population of pigeons in one’s dovecote was said to be equivalent to that of one’s power and influence in the land.

The year 2008 marks the revival of the domaine with the arrival of a new team. The idea was to restore the ancient values of its legendary wines, in the spirit of organic and biodynamic philosophy.

In 2009, after several years at domaine de Montille, Willy Roulendes joined the Moulin aux Moines to manage the vineyards and the cellar, bringing his personnal touch to produce vibrant terroir wines. With him began the first year of conversion to organic certification.

The domaine increased step by step to reach 15 hectares nowadays, extending from Pernand-Vergelesses till Corpeau, a village in the south of Puligny-Montrachet.